PDA

View Full Version : Well, the results are in...(newbie here..please bear with)

nmwaldron
09-06-2006, 10:51 PM
I just heard back from the bmw dealership on my 95 525i. It was leaking oil and they said the valve cover was leaking ($200 to fix), the oxygen sensor needs replaced, causing my check engine light to be on ($210 to fix). Also...some possible leaks along the oil pan gasket and front crank shaft seals....(no cost given yet..at $90/hour for labor, it's not gonna be cheap.)The engine was making knocking sounds and to diagnose that, it's gonna take 4 hours of diagnostics including pressure testing...(labor cost =$380). Also...the car wouldnt turn over yesterday when I left the key in the ignition trying to diagnose the check engine prob myself....I had to jump it and they said the battery was possibley cranking low....but they would need a full recharge and test to be sure ($100+ to do)
I have a headache....this is after I paid over $1000 just to get it through inspection..

anyone want to make me an offer???

:)

Jeff in MN
09-06-2006, 11:05 PM
This sounds like a great opportunity to start a small tool chest. Most of these items are DIY. Valve cover gasket you can get on line for less than $30. A screw driver and 10mm socket should be all it takes. 02 Sensor will require you get under the car (Safely) with a 17 or 19mm wrench. Don't worry about the other "possible" leaks until you get the rest sorted. Oil drips are still cheap. As for the battery, Sounds like a good time to head to Sears and pick up a batter charger for around $50. They are good to have around. With a few posts to the forum, you should be able to get through most of this for a lot less than the stealer wants.

Good luck,
Jeff in MN
87-535is, 88-528e, 90-535i w/ 105k.

632 Regal
09-06-2006, 11:10 PM
this is why we are here...