PDA

View Full Version : My bmw will not let me go above 130 mph

eliotgreen
08-18-2006, 04:16 AM
I tried searching the forums but to no avail. It would not surprise me if I missed it, but I wasn't really sure of the best terminology to find stuff on this topic. As the title says...

I recently completed about a 2300 mile drive from Dallas Texas to Washington state and got my 95 525I up to 130mph on the highway. However when I reached 130mph the engine would drop back in rpms until I reached 125mph or so and then if I continued to floor the gas, would return to 130. I'm pretty sure the trip computers max speed control is not active, and if it is I certainly don't understand why it would be at 130mph.

I've only owned my car about a month probably, so i'm still learning this one.

Help me out sirs, I would greatly appreciate it.

1995 BMW 525I E34
102K Miles

http://www.t-mobilepictures.com/photo/photo01/10/b6/6badd5b44cac.jpg?tw=305&th=228&_rh=6wkheg45nzy8ht9tivhypbs2k
I snapped this picture right as the engine started to cut back.
And also to anyone wondering I did do this in the middle of the night in the middle of kansas soo, no one was at risk other than myself.

shogun
08-18-2006, 04:43 AM
Unfortunately you live in the land of the free, where the electronic speed limiter acts at 130 mph. ;)
525 outside the US do not have such speed limitation.

That has nothing to do with your trip computer, that's is the in MOTRONIC.

eliotgreen
08-18-2006, 04:55 AM
So how do I disable that bs man?

shogun
08-18-2006, 05:04 AM
A new performance chip which also will do max speed limter away, I also have another chip in, as my 750 was limited to 250 kmh.
Something like this, example only!
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/91-92-BMW-E36-325i-is-E34-525-Ecu-402-Performance-Chip_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ33597QQihZ015QQite mZ250019842745QQrdZ1QQtcZphoto