PDA

View Full Version : I'm upgrading my router and had some problems

Bimmer Nut Ed
07-26-2006, 11:45 AM
I'm improving the computing environment here on Bimmer.info and have encountered a minor problem. Sounds like next try won't be till tonight. I thought replacing the aging router would be easy as pie, well pie ain't easy! Hang in there guys, sorry for the brief outage.

GoldenOne
07-26-2006, 11:54 AM
phew...i thought the network guys here finally busted me for spending too much time on this site...what a relief!

Qube
07-26-2006, 12:16 PM
So that's why my 5 sec continual refresh of this page failed! :)

Ross
07-26-2006, 01:02 PM
So, you 'gonna buy me a new mouse now that I've beaten this one to death?

Evan
07-26-2006, 01:52 PM
I'm a Network Engineer... holler if you need tech help

SchnellE34
07-26-2006, 02:04 PM
Yeah, let us know if you have any trouble Ed. I feel like I owe you that much.

Derek A.
07-26-2006, 04:42 PM
What are you running for a router ?

Yiorgos
07-26-2006, 05:31 PM
Router upgrades aren't that hard ;)

Just bung in a decent router like Linksys, put all your machines into DHCP mode in network settings, and bob's your uncle.

632 Regal
07-26-2006, 05:42 PM
huh?

Just bung in a decent router like Linksys, put all your machines into DHCP mode in network settings, and bob's your uncle.

ThoreauHD
07-26-2006, 06:12 PM
If you need help, .. well, you won't be able to tell us, so good luck. Kinda like sending a email when the email server goes down. It just don't work.

It's probably a cisco, and you will want to save your configs and copy paste them into the new router via serial or telnet. Don't use their java gui. It's crap.

Yiorgos
07-26-2006, 06:21 PM
huh?

Uh... yeah... Just read more into the first post now and realised who it was... I was referring to a small home network, the original thread is about a whole website + servers... my mistake!

Teaches me to actually read the first post ;)

genphreak
07-26-2006, 06:30 PM