PDA

View Full Version : Coolant/radio

uls
06-28-2006, 03:48 AM
hi,
i have a few questions, so thanks for your time :) !! i just recently bought a 1989 525i executive. I'm a student so i really dont have much money to be spending on repairs and would like to do some repairs myself (if possible)..
Anyway here is my problem.. Every time i turn the car on or off a check coolant level - owners handbook light comes on, but ive checked the coolant level a couple of times and it's full and not going down drastically.. only a bit over the last three weeks or so... Just wondering if this is a sensor problem or something electronic like that.. ? and (hopefuly) i can fix myself without too much hassle...?

Secondly when i turn the volume control on my radio it makes a crackling noise and but when i turn it very slightly it goes away... but as soon as i adjust the volume again it happens... My mechanic said that it is something inside the radio and he knows how to fix it but once again im a student and want to get out of paying for any repairs i can (that aren't too hard obviously) and i want to get to know my car a little better and do some repairs myself... :D

Lastly (although this is a stupid question) the Outside temperature gauge that tells you the temperature outside (on the same screen as the clock) is in Fahrenheit and (scene as im from Australia) id like it to be in degrees Centigrade... and i dont know how to change it... i had a look in the handbook but i cant find where it says how.. i dont have an OBC... and i cant find any switches that change it..??

Thanks very much for your time, and i hope this isn't posted anywhere else... :)

Yiorgos
06-28-2006, 04:14 AM