PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with some Questions 525i

cableface
06-01-2006, 10:49 AM
Hey everybody, I just got my first ever BMW and I'm new to all this so please bare with me if I say anything stupid. It's a '92 E34 525i AT with 210,000 miles purchased at a price of $1200 bucks. (I think that's a pretty good deal??) The car looks very good inside and out, especially considering its age. A couple small paint chips but nothing touch-up paint can't handle. The running condition is good as well but there are some issues that need addressed. I will list them off and any help is GREATLY appreciated.

1. AC/Heater: The blower motor does not turn on at all. I cannot tell for sure if the compressor turns on either but I think maybe it does. I have not checked the computer for codes as I have only had it two days. I replaced the blower resistor for the hell of it b/c it was just a few bucks. No change. I have ordered a used blower motor, and will be trying to install it soon. Is this a good course of action?? Or should I do something else? Could the entire climate control module be bad? If so, how should I check it?

2. The front end feels a little "loose" when hitting bumps or potholes. When braking, the brakes feel kind of like they are sticking, I think this is due to the front end. What would cause this? Bushings of some sort? The car has a lot of miles so I'm guessing that the front end could use some attention.

3. The car has some slight hesitation when accelerating. Once the acceleration begins, it is quite smooth but the hesitation is definitely there. It's there when accelerating from a dead stop or while already driving. I'm going to be changing the plugs soon. What else could I check??

Again, ANY help is much appreciated and I look forward to hearing what anyone has to say. Pics of the car are soon to come.

Caleb

TheEndIsNear
06-01-2006, 10:57 AM