PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm a noob

525i!
05-30-2006, 06:26 PM
I'm a noob to the bimmer scene, was previously in the japan scene eek!

So I picked up a 89 525i from a friend for a cool 500 the body is perfect the interior needs cleaned at best but it does have minor electrical problems and the check engin light is on. I pulled the code for and it gave me a 1264 code. I read that it is a EGO heater code. well wtf is a EGO heater? also does anyone know a possible reason why I would be getting no power to the ac control panel? thanks for your help.

rob101
05-30-2006, 06:29 PM
well wtf is a EGO heater?
its a device that gives you a warm fuzzy feeling inside;)

525i!
05-30-2006, 06:41 PM
uhh.....ok.....anyone else with something constructive to say?

SchnellE34
05-30-2006, 06:46 PM
a quick search on the forum brought up this for EGO...

http://www.bimmer.info/forum/showthread.php?t=14067&highlight=EGO+heater

No power to the climate control panel... hmmm, check fuses pull the panel out and check for faulty cabling. What do you mean by not working? Does the blower motor not turn on? No lights? Can't open vents? more specification please...

525i!
05-30-2006, 06:50 PM
[QUOTE=SchnellE34]a quick search on the forum brought up this for EGO...

http://www.bimmer.info/forum/showthread.php?t=14067&highlight=EGO+heater

No power to the climate control panel... hmmm, check fuses pull the panel out and check for faulty cabling. What do you mean by not working? Does the blower motor not turn on? No lights? Can't open vents? more specification please...[/QUOTE

it just has no power to it, dosent light up, no blower, dosent kick on the ac comp. nothing. I checked the fuse no power to it either

BillionPa
05-31-2006, 12:30 AM
EGO heater code is probably the O2 sensors or the relay that controls them.

replace them both

there is a control unit behind the center console for the climate control system, its probably dead.

joshua43214
05-31-2006, 07:39 AM