PDA

View Full Version : Help with A/C

mdlv4bb
05-04-2006, 03:11 AM
Hello,
I have been a long time reader of this forum, but this is my first time posting. My wife is in the Air Force and we are stationed in Germany. We have a 1992 520 with 202K, German specs (really fun on the unlimited Autobahn outside our village). Over the winter I noticed that unless I drove it everyday it would not start the next time and needed jumping. I took it to a mechanic who found a loose wire in the trunk that was draining the battery; he fixed that along with installing a new blower since the old one was shot. When I picked it up, 420 Euro later, nothing on my center console worked i.e. clock, rear defrost, A/C, circulate, along with the lights on my dashboard. He said no problem and would fix it. Needless to say when I picked it up again everything worked except the A/C and circulate buttons on the center console. When I confronted him about this he said it did not work to begin with, which is not true, long story short, the attorneys my wife works for said we would have to hire a German attorney and fight it that way. It would be more trouble than it is worth. Now to my question, is it possible there is a fuse blown or they hit a wire while installing the new blower and is it is something I could fix? My manual is in German and I can't find a translation without trying to go word for word with a dictionary, to find the right fuse. Any suggestions? We are having a baby soon and need an air conditioned car to carry her around instead of rolling the windows down if possible. Thank you for any help.
Matt

joshua43214
05-04-2006, 05:41 AM
Check fuses 9, 20, 29 in the front fuse box. Does the rear defoger still work? Pop out the buttons and make sure its pluged in. Hopefuly he didn't muck up the bowden cable doing the blower. Turn the blower down to its lowest possible setting, and see if you can hear the motor operate, they are very quiet, so listen close.