PDA

View Full Version : Overheating Issue

74-AMX
04-26-2006, 10:34 AM
Hello,
I am new to BMW and recently picked up an '89 525i from an auction. The motor seems to run very well, but it overheats when idling, driving or any time in between. I poped off the thermostat housing only to find there was no thermostat. I let the vehicle run and I noticed that there was no water circulation so I figured that the water pump had failed. I replaced the water pump, installed a new thermostat and I now get a minimal amount of circulation, but the vehcile is still very quick to overheat. I then replaced the fan clutch and purchased a new fan blade as well. The cluth seems to move a good volume of air but the vehicle still overheats. I have check to see if there is any fluid transfer (oil in water or water in oil) but all fluids are clean and clear with no transfer. The compression reads between 145-165psi through the cylinders so I don't suspect there is a head issue and I do not get any bubbling in the radiatior. Can anyone tell me if there is a know or common blockage issue associated with these motors? Is there a valve that I don't know about? Can the auxiliry water pump or heater water valve disrupt the engines ability to cool itself properly? I noticed that when the vehicle starts overheating the upper radiator hose is hot, but the bottom is only luke warm. Water flows through the radiatior very easily if I flush it out. Again, I am not sure how the cooling system is supposed to work in one of these vehicles, I just did the tests that I would do on my AMC Javelins. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

dacoyote
04-26-2006, 11:09 AM
Pisser Line?? Make sure you don't got an air bubble...

Does the heater work?

JD525IA
04-26-2006, 11:21 AM
To check it, start the car and pop the hood. Make sure the engine is warmed up to your overheating temp.