PDA

View Full Version : Hello all newbie here with some questions.

bulldog_shotgun
02-24-2006, 09:48 AM
I just bought my first bmw monday, a 1989 535i this is a e34 right???
anyway its a very nice car and extremely reasonably priced. i expected it to be higher, but i have a few questions

this morning i was going to drive it too work for the first time and i went out and started it (it was about 22deg. F) to let it warm up 15 mins later the tempature guage showed it right in the middle of normal, but the heater wouldn't put out any heat. the fan wouldn't even kick on no matter what setting i used. when i test drove this car monday the heater was going great guns, and i remember the previous owner turning it off.

the middle slider (forward air i believe) won't slide all the way to the right.

it has a 3.5 liter inline 6 what engine code is this m30????

what headlight bulbs are the correct ones??
the brights are extremely bright i know i've read some complaints but mine are great. but one of the lows is really dim and the other is bright and the screens says LOW BEAM.

anyway thanks and hello to everyone, this seems like a great forum.

dacoyote
02-24-2006, 10:09 AM
.....the fan wouldn't even kick on no matter what setting i used.

Assuming you are talking about the fan control in the middle... normally that means the sword pack is out.... It should still work on 4 however....

.....it has a 3.5 liter inline 6 what engine code is this m30????

Yes.. a 89 535i would be a M30

what headlight bulbs are the correct ones??
the brights are extremely bright i know i've read some complaints but mine are great. but one of the lows is really dim and the other is bright and the screens says LOW BEAM.

Don't know off the top of my head... but one of them is wrong or the LKM is having issues...

anyway thanks and hello to everyone, this seems like a great forum.

Ahhh.. thanks...

bulldog_shotgun
02-24-2006, 01:13 PM