PDA

View Full Version : 1976 E12 wont start

hotshu
02-14-2006, 05:20 PM
Hello, my 1st post on this forum. It's a 530i with a rebuilt 2.8L engine. I have spark, but no fuel. Fuses are ok. Where should I check next? I'm thinking of hot wiring the fuel pump to test, but where is it? Sorry I'm an E12 newbie. Is there an online manual or pic/diagrams on the web? Thanx!

Martin in Bellevue
02-14-2006, 05:32 PM
I'd start by checking:
∙ pull the plugs & check for fouling
∙ Pull cap & rotor & check for cracks, carbon tracks
∙ verify fuel pressure to the carbs or injectors
? Is this one of those l jetronics with the fuel pump distributor, like a 2002ti, with a pump belt that needs to be lined up?

hotshu
02-14-2006, 06:01 PM
Thanx for the reply. The sparkplugs were fine, as were the cap & rotor. It had been starting & running fine previously. Plugs are dry, no fuel getting to the cylinders. I pulled the cold start fuel injector & no fuel will come out of it while starting.

Not familiar with fuel pump distributor, that's why I'm looking for online pics sources.

Where's the fuel pump in the 5 series?

rob101
02-14-2006, 07:46 PM
probably near the fuel tank, you should check out the special e12 site

www.firstfives.org

I think the 2002 has K-jet not L-jet. one is MFI the other is EFI biiig difference.

rob101
02-14-2006, 07:58 PM
Hello, my 1st post on this forum. It's a 530i with a rebuilt 2.8L engine. I have spark, but no fuel. Fuses are ok. Where should I check next? I'm thinking of hot wiring the fuel pump to test, but where is it? Sorry I'm an E12 newbie. Is there an online manual or pic/diagrams on the web? Thanx!
be aware that there are 2 pumps, transfer and main, main will be near the fuel filter, under the car in front of the right rear suspension if i remember correctly (and if its the same as the e28)

winfred
02-14-2006, 08:13 PM
320i is k-jet with a fuel distributor, 2002tii is mechanical with a belt driven injection pump