PDA

View Full Version : Door check repair

djscoggins
02-08-2006, 09:43 PM
Hello everyone, I'm a newb to BMW but I have been over on Volvospeed for a while. I got my 94 525i 5spd today and so far I am enjoting it:)

I do however have a question about door check repair, I saw the repair on e34.net, but my check has broken off in the door. The write up says that He JB welded it for the write up repair. Id rather not do that. Is there another way to repair this, maybe a repair kit, if this is a common problem? I also have a Volvo 95 850 turbo and while door checks arent common to break other things are and sometimes there is an easy fix or sometimes even a repair kit. I want to repair this ASAP because I believe it has dented the door from the inside out.

Its good to see a repair and advice forum for these cars and I look foward to lots of future use!!!

Darrell

PS: does BMW still offer owners manuals for this vehicle? I looked at ebay with no luck.

ryan roopnarine
02-08-2006, 09:56 PM
the door brake itself is about $40. this is what the guy jb welded in this repair. it is now floating around inside your door. the other "repair" part, the bent door part, can be fixed one of two or three ways. one, it may be possible to fix it using the koala motorsport door brake aftermarket fix if it isn't too far gone. i think that might be an additional $40. another, if the damage is bad enough is to weld in or use (jb weld?) and fix the door, which will probably cost a bunch of money. a third (im not familiar with) is to use washers in a manner similar to the koala motorsport fix, if it isn't too far gone.

bfd
02-08-2006, 10:08 PM
Hello everyone, I'm a newb to BMW but I have been over on Volvospeed for a while. I got my 94 525i 5spd today and so far I am enjoting it:)