PDA

View Full Version : Oil Leak/Smoke Problem

RichBimmer525i
02-04-2006, 08:40 PM
Hey guys! Sorry my first post here is asking for help, but maybe y'all can clarify this for me.

Recently, my 1990 (with 104000 miles! get to that later) has been leaking massive amounts of oil and smoking at every stoplight and when I park. I've had valve cover leaks on previous cars, but never this bad. Second, I'm not familiar with inline-6s, so I am far from an expert. I noticed the leak is coming from some area in the front of the engine, but the actual spot is blocked from view by the battery shelf. This is the only spot it is leaking, but its really bad. Is this the valve cover or something else?

I do not have any metric-specific tools & limited repair experience, so unfortunately I get to walk in backwards to a mechanic. I just want to know what I'm looking at before I take it in, ya know. And hey maybe I can take a stab at it...replaced valve cover gaskets before if that's the only problem.

So guys thanks for the advice, I'll take some pictures if necessary!

Hypr5
02-04-2006, 08:46 PM
Sounds like either the valve cover gasket or headgasket. Maybe someone else can help out better.

Is the smoke coming from the exhaust or is it coming from the engine compartment???

632 Regal
02-04-2006, 11:46 PM
search for scott Hs latest posts about cam access plugs or some crap?

RichBimmer525i
02-04-2006, 11:48 PM
I forgot to note that my engine is starting to have a rough idle, dropping to about 600 RPM at stoplights (while smoke pours out). This is probably an unrelated problem...

To clarify, smoke is coming from the engine compartment. Specifically, the smoke and oil leak is coming from some part of the engine closest to the battery. I've just never seen a valve cover leak get THIS bad this fast!...leading me to wonder if its something else.

Anybody ran into something like this before?

Alexlind123
02-05-2006, 12:07 AM