PDA

View Full Version : fair price?

tim
01-11-2006, 02:20 PM
for a nice 1990 535ia w/ 60k in a local paper. Can anybody id the custom stereo or detector? Should I even bother- the guy is asking 9k.

tim
01-11-2006, 02:22 PM
more pix

tim
01-11-2006, 02:23 PM
last ones

Jay 535i
01-11-2006, 02:26 PM
That's a lot of money, obviously due to the mileage.

If low mileage is important to you, see if you can haggle him down a bit. If mileage isn't that important (note my 535 is still going strong with over 140,000mi, as are many others around here), you could get a nice 535 for little more than half that.

See pics of my car by clicking the pic in my signature. See how good it looks even with the high miles? You needn't spend 9k to get a nice one. You could buy one with higher mileage and the money you save will be enough to buy a whole brand new engine when the time comes.

NY535iManual
01-11-2006, 02:56 PM
I agree with Jay - I studied the market religiously for several months before buying my car, and concluded that a moderate mileage car could be had for less than half of that $9,000. In fact, 9k is more than some (admittedly perhaps rough) M5s sell for on eBay...

Jay 535i
01-11-2006, 02:57 PM
I agree with Jay - I studied the market religiously for several months before buying my car, and concluded that a moderate mileage car could be had for less than half of that $9,000. In fact, 9k is more than some (admittedly perhaps rough) M5s sell for on eBay...

Indeed. In fact, if my budget was $9k, I'd probably be looking at an E39, not E34.

dacoyote
01-11-2006, 03:00 PM
I don't think she is worth 9k... there are a lot of little things wrong with the car from the pictures

Jay 535i
01-11-2006, 03:03 PM
I don't think she is worth 9k... there are a lot of little things wrong with the car from the pictures