PDA

View Full Version : remote doesnt work!

ricegyrl
01-07-2006, 07:49 PM
Hi guys, I'm a newbie to this forum. Hahah, anyways, I just got my parent's old 1995 525i BMW, but when they gave me the car with the remote, the remote doesn't work. I know for a fact that when we bought the car it came with the remote. So, I'm assuming it's from the factory itself?

Anyways, I looked over the manual and I don't know how I can fix the remote to make it work again. The batteries are working fine and my uncle just checked under the hood and said the fuses are all fine, any suggestions? Thanks a lot.

Qsilver7
01-07-2006, 08:03 PM
if the remote fob has been dropped or "man"-handled...the chip inside may have come dislodged. This happened to someone one not to long ago. If you open the remote fob, you can check it and if its loose...re-seat the chip.

The keyless entry system has a seperate booklet and isn't really explained in much detail in the owners manual. I have the BMW/Alpine keyless entry instructions on my cardomain site...check it out...then check the chip in your remote: http://www.cardomain.com/ride/739005/3

(here's an example of one of three pages you should read & check out about the transmitter microchip replacement at link posted above...(#2) is the chip holder and probably has come loose)

http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/7/web/739000-739999/739005_25_full.jpg

Russell
01-07-2006, 09:59 PM
I hould have carefully read your question. The remote has a battery that should be replaced about once a year or so. In fact you should have two remotes if your family originally purchased the car.

ricegyrl
01-09-2006, 07:44 PM
i have secured the chip in but it still doesn't work. any other suggestions?

mpirie
01-10-2006, 03:35 AM