PDA

View Full Version : POR-15 preparation products, question....

Dave M
12-29-2005, 08:13 AM
Purchased some POR-15 yesterday (ouch, a bit steaper than 'rust check' brand). The destructions state that a water-based cleaner should be used to prep the surface. Of course, they also pitch their own marine cleaner which my source does not carry.

Are they any alternatives, or a commonly used solvent, safe for POR-15 prep. I have a number of small areas (most on the front cross-member) to address now that the engine and steering box are out, most of which were coated with a film of various petroleum based substances.

Ive already cleaned brushed and wiped with rubbing alcohol. Might this be sufficient? I have no experience with POR-15.

Thanks,

Dave M

632 Regal
12-29-2005, 08:23 AM
clean with your favorite chemical solvent, after all the grease and stuffs gone use hot water, a brush and dish soap?

Alcohol doesnt cut grease well.

Dave M
12-29-2005, 08:59 AM
Whats 'dish soap'? Maybe I should ask my wife.

Thanks jeff, i found the marine degreaser in town and will do as told!

Dave M

632 Regal
12-29-2005, 09:17 AM
what planet are you from again?
Whats 'dish soap'?

Jay 535i
12-29-2005, 10:41 AM
Purchased some POR-15 yesterday (ouch, a bit steaper than 'rust check' brand). The destructions state that a water-based cleaner should be used to prep the surface. Of course, they also pitch their own marine cleaner which my source does not carry.

Are they any alternatives, or a commonly used solvent, safe for POR-15 prep. I have a number of small areas (most on the front cross-member) to address now that the engine and steering box are out, most of which were coated with a film of various petroleum based substances.

Ive already cleaned brushed and wiped with rubbing alcohol. Might this be sufficient? I have no experience with POR-15.

Thanks,

Dave M