PDA

View Full Version : Can a higher octane fuel harm the M30 engine?

gj1968
12-27-2005, 02:26 PM
I have been using a 93 octane( BP/Amoco) gasoline for my 1993 535i since I got the car almost a month ago. I just read from the Roadfly E34 forum this posting regarding the 535i:

However, I'm happy to trade some power for a car that runs on 87 octane (that's what it REQUIRES -- higher octane will reduce its performance and even harm the engine long-term), and is simple and straightforward to work on.

Is this for real? or just another IMO/2 cents worth baseless opinion. If so I must be foolish to pay more money on the pump for no return and might even harm the car's engine in the long run.

Torque
12-27-2005, 02:33 PM
That's a myth. Higher octane won't harm the engine or reduce its performance. Only time a engine is 'aware' of octane is when it's lacking some.

genphreak
12-27-2005, 02:39 PM
I have been using a 93 octane( BP/Amoco) gasoline for my 1993 535i since I got the car almost a month ago. I just read from the Roadfly E34 forum this posting regarding the 535i: Is this for real? or just another IMO/2 cents worth baseless opinion. If so I must be foolish to pay more money on the pump for no return and might even harm the car's engine in the long run.No, but bad fuel will harm it a lot (kludging up injectors and filters). Bad fuel comes in all octanes (avoid service stations with a chance of old rusty in-ground tanks). That said, I am not sure the performance is worth the extra if you potter round town most of the time. If you chip the car you can't use 87- so pay the extra and hope the economy buys back the extra cost- on an old M30 that is not in new condition... I doubt that will happen. :) Nick

Perhaps someone can correct me (I hope) :)

632 Regal
12-27-2005, 03:48 PM
correction torque, higher octane can reduce power but you are correct that it wont hurt anything. Its basicly a cleaner fuel with different additives to boost octane.