PDA

View Full Version : Winter Driving Setup

NY535iManual
12-12-2005, 12:45 PM
Hi - Newbie here with another question:

Right now, my 89 535i has 18"s on it with the eibach/bilstein lowering kit. Car is great on smooth roads, merciless on the bumps, and can be a real handfull in the wet. Winter is here, and I spend a lot of time driving on ski trips...Which leads to my question: Besides snow tires (15" steel and Blizzaks are on order) do any of you do anything to make your cars more driveable in snow or God-forbid ice? I am thinking of sand bags in the trunk, but am not convinced that weight high up and slightly behind the rear wheels is necessarily a good idea, though it may be better than nothing.

632 Regal
12-12-2005, 12:49 PM
a good set of snows is all you should need, these cars ar 50/50 balanced which is far superior than their american steel brothers which weight in the rear did help.

Tiger
12-12-2005, 01:17 PM
That Blizzak will take care of it for you... I hoped you bought 205/65R15 size for better ice traction.

peks
12-12-2005, 01:19 PM
sandbags in the trunk will help your take-off traction but it wont help you stop, prob make it worse

NY535iManual
12-12-2005, 02:30 PM
I figured the sandbags would only worsen problems in a well balanced car like the e34, but after hearing so much about "problems in snow" I figured I would ask. I had an e28 535is for several years during college and grad school, and I always found it highly competent in snow. My roommate's IROC Z beater was another story entirely, particularly with the treadbare tires he refused to replace until his girlfriend managed to slide the car backwards down a nearby hill (with the car in drive).

Yes, I got the 205/65 15"s - I saw no reason to go big for ugly steel wheels. I will admit to being curious to see what so much more side-wall does to the car's handling on dry pavement, particularly since the Blizzaks are said to have very flexible sidewalls for better lateral bite in slush/snow.