PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of buying 1992 525i..need some feedbacks

gj1968
11-20-2005, 04:19 PM
Hi,

Im new to this forum. I test drove today a 1992 525i automatic transmission Burgundy color with tan interior . Car is in New Jersey and has spent its entire life here. The car has 151K miles on it. Seller is asking $3900 but I was able to bring it down to $3100. He is the second owner of the car ; owned it since May 2005. Reason for selling is he is going to Maryland for his internship. Carfax checked good exept for a left front impact with a parked car back in 1998. Average mileage per year is 11K. I need a daily driver car and especially with winter season starting I do not want to use my recently bought 2002 530i for daily driving.

The 525i car drives fine..but unfortunately Im not a car expert so it is really hard to say whether something is wrong with it. I have driven manual cars for years and this is the first automatic I will be owning so I dont know what to expect as far as transmission goes. It starts well and it has been pretty cold this morning.. about 40 degrees F.

The 2nd owner do not have any records except he just brought the car this month to a BMW dealership because it wouldnt start. Turned out that it needs a new battery which was replaced. Also the dealership replaced the coolant level sensor. He showed me the receipt.

I don't know if this means anything but the service indicator light still have 3 solid green lights. The only service he did for the car is an engine oil change and he claims he used synthetic oil for it.

The exterior looks clean except the rear bumper has several deep scratches going down to the primer of the bumper. The interior looks clean for its age and surprisingly the leather seats look clean and no tear. The vanity lights are not working and there is a warning to check washer fluid level. He claimed this is one of the annoying problems which he really didnt bother fixing.