PDA

View Full Version : 525 battery drain

Unregistered
03-03-2004, 09:05 AM
Anyone now if my starter motor should have 2 (two) volts running to it at all times? If not, is the problem with the solenoid or the associated wiring?

I know this is basic stuff but I'm a basic kind of guy and know almost nothing of electrics in cars!

Bimmer Nut Ed
03-03-2004, 10:12 AM
I'm no pro, but I can't imagine that the started motor should be getting any juice to it when not engaged and active.

Hector
03-03-2004, 11:09 AM
the bit of reading I've done in the past, starters rarely go bad.

It's most likely you could have a bad battery or parasitic drain above that of the normal 30 mA that is allowed. Here are some simple things to do to check for this. With all electrical systems turned off, disconnect the negative battery terminal and hook up a DMM between the battery post and the cable. If you read more than 30 mA, then you got a parasitic drain. The next thing is to isolate the probable cause by doing the following: (1) Go to the fuse panel and remove one fuse at a time. Clean the prongs of each fuse and insert back in fuse box. Test for parasitic drain again. If still above 30 mA, then do the same for the relays. It could also be something as simple as (2) glove box light failing to shut off or a drunk light, or (3) two wires with poor insulation that are just barely touching each.

You can further troubleshoot for parasitic drain by checking the load reduction relays. Sometimes these tend to stick. Just turn the ignition off and turn on and off the systems wired to the relays: air conditioner, seat switches, fan blowers, etc, and see if this helps.

Hector

Unregistered
03-03-2004, 12:49 PM