PDA

View Full Version : Drive for Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation

rockyfeller
07-30-2005, 03:17 PM
I went for "Drive for a cure" yesterday and all of you MUST MUST MUST attend!!! The goal is to raise money for breast cancer research. You choose a vehicle, take it for a drive and BMW will donate $1 per mile to the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation. I felt like it was a dream! It was more fun than I've had all year. I had a headache by the end of the day from my sustained raised blood pressure. It was a dream come true; 10 BMWs, got some cancer education and an oppurtunity to donate, talked to our mayor for a bit, even got free food! I could do this for days on end! I drove the new 3 series, a E46 330ci convertible, 6 series convertible, a 545i, 750Li (facelifted), a Z4 3.0, an X5 4.4 and a X3....All on a 15 mile course at speeds not legal to mention (I'm a careful driver wary of family drivers and cops). There was no excessive lines and no passenger salesman yapping and no sales pitch but what genius; The whole thing is for breast cancer research and they have a guaranteed in love customer for life! I was surprised by my end tally on the best cars. Here's how I rated them (on all factors but mostly "fun to drive" :

1. 545i (Near faultless. brutal speed...an M5 goes faster!?!? )
2. 750Li (Hate I-drive and gear-shift lever!! Felt a little "old-man" but 100% luxury effortless stressfree, quiet, superfast, best suspension bar any car )
3. 6-series convertible (Not too crazy about front-end styling and this car is overpriced but love that exhaust sound! Nothing like a German V8 with dual exhaust. Solid, sexy car. Turns heads. Great torque )
4. Z4 (Underpowered, little harsher suspension but OK. Pure BMW handling, tracks like a go-kart, cuts like a knife, awesome exhaust boom at 1500-2500 rpm )
5. E46 330ci convertible (Has notable cowl shake, but has got that beautiful exhaust note again...cheaper than others with top-down motoring )