PDA

View Full Version : Why would a shop say you would need a new flywheel

rph
07-12-2005, 08:42 PM
..when you take it in for an estimate for a clutch kit? Can a bad clutch damage the flywheel? I've never heard of it before, but I'm not a mechanic.

632 Regal
07-12-2005, 08:51 PM
well in all honesty you may not need one...BUT if it lasted this long wouldnt you just want the whole situation done for the same length of time it lasted so far? It's kinda a preferance deal, maintenance item kinda thing. Its like replacing one light in the dash cause its burnt so someone pulls the whole thing and you dont want to replace the others...2 days later you have to pay to do it all again. I know it dont really make sence to you as it didnt to me either when I first got this BMW thing. Kinda like peridocly replacing hoses. water pumps, thermostats etc even when theres absolutly nothing wrong with what is in there right now. I hope in some insignificant way this can penetrate and cause you to think about your BMW "outside the box"

rph
07-12-2005, 08:59 PM
I understand what you're saying. I'm just wondering how often a flywheel wears out. I've had a clutch job done before on another BMW but there was no talk about a new flywheel that's all.

winfred
07-12-2005, 08:59 PM
e34s have a piece of **** springloaded twin mass flywheel that wears out and rattles, i've not seen one come apart but i think it's totally possible, the clutch can also dammage the surface and not every machine shop can do a resurface without destroying the flywheel as the two halfs can move independently of one another a inch or two

Rory535i
07-12-2005, 09:02 PM
don't mean to hijack the thread, but while we're on the subject, what's a suitable upgrade from the dual mass flywheel? one from an E28 or are there other ones that will fit?

winfred
07-12-2005, 09:06 PM
that'd do nicely, just remember what it came from so future clutch replacements don't get screwed up