PDA

View Full Version : M30 Engine pull question

Jeff N.
06-30-2005, 11:49 AM
Anyone know if you can pull an M30 out the top without dropping the tranny? (5 speed)

Last engine swap we first dropped the exhaust and tranny, then pulled the motor out the top.

Getting ready for the 3.7 install; wondering if we can skip the exhaust and tranny step.

Jeff

Martin in Bellevue
06-30-2005, 11:55 AM
Who's WE? You got the queen of england over there?

Robin-535im
06-30-2005, 11:59 AM
You've been surprisingly quiet about the project lately... I was wondering when you'd be posting 1/4 mile times!

Geez - now I really will have to come out there for the wedding (friend getting married on the 30th in Seattle).

I have no experience with this operation on this car, but it might be worth it to drop the exhaust, DS and tranny just to be sure. Should only add an hour or two to the job, but it's nice to have extra room. Or rather, it really sucks to *almost* get it out then have to rush and pull the tranny while Martin patiently holds the engine up with his bare hands.

Nowadays I tend to remove too many things than remove too few because I really hate trying to squeeze things out that just barely don't fit, whereas if I took the time to take out the extra parts the whole job would have been a breeze.

Let us know how it goes together!!

Bruno
06-30-2005, 11:59 AM
Anyone know if you can pull an M30 out the top without dropping the tranny? (5 speed)

Last engine swap we first dropped the exhaust and tranny, then pulled the motor out the top.

Getting ready for the 3.7 install; wondering if we can skip the exhaust and tranny step.

Jeff

YEs you can pull it with the tranny. When I have done it the rad, condenser, hood and grill was gone so it was easy to come out.

But the tranny on the 535i is easy to come out (3.5 hours, in and out with 2 people).

I would drop the tranny and remove the hood, no need to cut corners and damage some body panels on your car.