PDA

View Full Version : OK Ed....Funny "Lost Data" story.....

Brian C.
06-29-2005, 03:54 PM
And rather topical too considering Ed's recent troubles.

I'm a Police Photographer and one of the things we do in our office is to process all the Department's film, and now more recently we have the equipment to accept most any type of digital media also. So myself, my co-workers, or anyone else can take their media cards and put them into a consumer-type terminal at our front counter and print out or burn to disk whatever they've taken photos of. Just like you'd see at the local drugstore or Wallymart. But of course these photos can be a bit....well....different.

So a female Vice Detective comes in this morning with two of the small Secure Digital cards that she wants to burn to CD. She had worked a massage parlor detail where she was the "Massage-ee" and they photographed all the "Clients" in the (almost) act before they were arrested. She wants to take only some of the images from each card and put them all together on one CD, which we can do, because she also says she has photos of her kids, etc on the cards that she doesn't want on the CD. This is a bit more work, but still not too much trouble. She puts in the first SD card and reads the 10 images she wants and starts the transfer. She then waits until it's the correct time, removes that card and puts in the second SD card that had about 200 more images on it she wanted.

It's taking a bit more time to transfer the images to the hard drive and then it would burn them, and she gets a blonde moment. Actually more of a brown-root moment. She gets impatient and removes the card before the light went out. Oooooo.......bad move. As the company techs told us, that's almost a sure way to re-format the card and lose the images.