PDA

View Full Version : Rear Pitman arms (dogbones): Should they be held in place by the bolts?

NielsGalan
04-02-2005, 08:53 AM
or may they "wiggle", twist and turn around the bolts as the car rocks form side to side????

Jeff told me that they should stay in place, but I need a second opinion (no offence Jeff!).

Doctors? Do you concur?

Rory
04-02-2005, 10:19 AM
or may they "wiggle", twist and turn around the bolts as the car rocks form side to side????

Jeff told me that they should stay in place, but I need a second opinion (no offence Jeff!).

Doctors? Do you concur?Hi Niels,

I am not a Doctor quite yet, but i'll give this a try. As hard as it is to admit this, Jeff is right on this one ;) The dog bones should be static and have no play. If you have any play in them then it is time to replace them. Parts should be around $80-90 from BMA or more from other suppliers. New hardware is included in the newer kits and it is a pretty simple job (unless your name is Sean H.). Check out the following link for more info http://www.bimmerboard.com/forums/posts/51276. Also, one thing the link does not mention is that the rear trailing arm should be tensioned fully when removing and installing the dog bones (so the bolts line up). Make sure you have the car properly supported on a lift or 4 jack stands and use a jack to tension the trailing arm. Good luck.

Best,
Rory

liquidtiger720
04-02-2005, 11:59 AM
hmm, that is interesting. Why did my pitman arms not come with new hardware?

~Is tensioning the trailing arm necessary? I didn't do it, and it went through fine. Is there a detrimental side effect of not tensioning it?

NielsGalan
04-02-2005, 12:23 PM
Thank you doctors, for your help.