PDA

View Full Version : Catalytic Converter Removal

KingSix
03-11-2005, 03:13 PM
Hello Again Guys,

I am new to the world of BMW's so some of my questions may seem a bit silly to some of you vets out there. I was wondering if it is possible to remove the catalytic converter without disturbing the engine. I am emissions exempt here in NH ( 1992 535i ) so legality is not an issue... I have been told by a few individuals that removing the cat will negatively affect the performance of the engine. Is this true ? Is there a way around it ? A performance chip maybe? I know that was the case with my Dodge Ram.. I removed the cat and used the chip ( A JET Programmable )to reprogram the onboard computer ... any advice would be welcome... Thanks for your time...

Tiger
03-11-2005, 04:54 PM
You can go to a local independent shop... no major brand like Midas... They can cut out the cat and put in a generic cat in the place of it... all they have to do is match the capacity and size of cat to original one.

I heard someone had a Magnaflow cat installed for like $120 each. Cat itself is like $70 alone.

If you go to Midas or other major brand co... it will be instantly $600 per side... they do it because they can get away with it.

KingSix
03-11-2005, 04:57 PM
Umm yeah.. did I type that question in a different language? I asked if I could remove it without problems... I know I can replace it .. thanks anyway

bondheli
03-11-2005, 05:01 PM
rofl

KingSix
03-11-2005, 05:25 PM
hmm very helpful forums indeed ....thanks anyway guys

infinity5
03-11-2005, 05:34 PM
you won't so much as get your threads read with an attitude like that, just in case you weren't sure. this ain't some honda rice forum. and a great deal of people here don't speak english, so for some it might indeed be a different language.

:)

Dave M
03-11-2005, 05:52 PM