GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Kinda way OT: Who really enjoys what they do?

Default Kinda way OT: Who really enjoys what they do?

I've been involved in manufacturing for 8 years now (going on 9), and am in a rut. It's a 7:30-4:30 job, but in a shrinking market. I want to do something that excites me, that doesn't make me dread Monday mornings, but also that doesn't totally consume all my time (taking me away from the wife, son, cars, bike, etc.). That sort of rules out a lot of traveling sales jobs.

While I am mechanically inclined, I don't think I would make a good mechanic. I enjoy working on things, but maybe not for a living. I have an Engineering degree (in Materials Science and Engineering), but that's not well-suited to too many fields. I enjoy writing, and considered a career in journalism, but just never pursued it. I enjoy travel, both domestic and international, yet do not speak a foreign language fluently.

I guess I'm just wondering if anyone does anything they're really passionate about, that earns them a decent living with a little extra cash at the end of the month for play. Ideally in the $35/hour plus range
    Bill B.
    95 525i

That bad Bill?? I don't want to hear any complaints till you've got 25 years manufacturing, 18 of them automotive (::moan: !! Don't know if you heard, my company just got bought a couple weeks ago. Going from a private german company to a public swiss company. Should be for the good.

You know, we're planning to add 2 engineers soon, and maybe some other positions. Not that this company is any better than where you are, but who knows? Want me to let you know when they decide? (They normally post on monster.com search for saia-burgess automotive.) And they currently have an opening for a supplier quality engineer - it'd be pretty sweet we don't have a lot of suppliers, and the travel is probably less than 10% in reality.

Your's would be the 5th bmw in the lot....