GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Okay...here's a very bad drift ending...

Default Okay...here's a very bad drift ending...

Now you guys know that I usually don't post pics like this, and I'm certainly not doing it to thrill anybody. Some of you may know that I'm a Forensic Photographer with a large southern Police Department. One of my many duties is to photograph auto accidents. I didn't happen to shoot this one, one of my partners did a year or so ago, but it can be fairly typical of what happens all too frequently. I don't want to blast anyone, but everyone, especially young people need to get it into their heads that human beings are not invincible. Metal, concrete, wood, stone, all these things can destroy flesh and bone in an instant in the right situation.

Here's the story that I got from the Investigators. Residents reported that a white 2 door had been speeding around a neighborhood after midnight. From the tiremarks at certain intersections it was apparent that the car had been driving in a circuitous route at high speeds and sliding or "drifting" around a few wide corners. One side road ended in a "T" and had a 4 foot hedge along the opposing sidewalk. There were no skidmarks at this intersection.

The vehicle plowed through the hedge and headed through a yard and chain link fence towards a home. It impacted the side of the home at about a 30 degree angle below a window.

The windows were equiped with what are known as accordian-style hurricane shutters. These sit in a metal box attached to the exterior wall until needed.

The front passenger quarter panel hit the wall first. It was estimated to have been traveling about 75 mph. The passenger's head was knocked out the open window and onto the concrete and the metal shutter housing.
    As the vehicle's momentum carried it down the house's wall, the head was dragged too.