GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant

Thread: 95 540i - puff of smoke on start up

Rick Guest

Default 95 540i - puff of smoke on start up

'95 540i with 88k miles runs superbly and smooth, but since I changed the oil about 1k miles ago it now wants to blow out a puff of smoke on initial start up after it's been sitting overnight. I used Pennzoil 15-40 oil and a replacement filter from BMA. Wrong oil or just coincidental?
    Also, for kicks I just took out all 8 spark plugs. The front 6 look good but the 2 in the back (one each side) are black. Comments?
    Again, the car starts and runs great but I don't like the recent puff of smoke on start up.
    Rick in Ohio

I'll give it a try. Assuming oil is what is being burned and the plugs are fouled with oil (smell them), it may be valve guides/seals. While the car is sitting overnight, oil may be able to find its way into the cylinder(s) via gravity and a faulty valve seal. I'm no expert, but am grappling with an oil consumption problem as we speak. I just finished pulling the intake manifold to see if oil is making its way past the guides and into cylinders under vaccum conditions. There is likely a way to determine where its coming from in your case, keep asking. Board will liven up tommorrow.

Good luck,

Dave M

ill put money on it being that piece of **** pcv plate on the back of the intake manifold

all america wants is cold beer warm cat and a place to take a poop with a door on it

Me too... PVC.

positive crankcase ventalation not poly vinyl chloride

Quote Originally Posted by Tiger
    Me too... PVC.
    all america wants is cold beer warm cat and a place to take a poop with a door on it

You're probably right on the money, Winfred. Mine went out and it looked like I was Mosquito Control.
    Ramon
    1994 540iA Nikasil EAT Chip
    Tampa Bay, Florida USA

ahh... right... what was I thinking... plumbing...

Hi to everyone