GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Audio system and upgrades

Default Audio system and upgrades

Hi,

my 530i V8 is equipped with the 10 speaker system. Standard in the U.S., called "hifi option" in the EU.

Recently, all 3 speakers near the front passenger door stopped working. I suspect the amplifier or built-in crossover to be faulty.

Would it be possible to replace the amplifier with modern aftermarket equipment? In addition, I would add a separate crossover.

Since the wiring for the 2 component system is there already, I don't see why the above would not work. However, I am not an expert at electric stuff and audio so I would like to hear what you guys have to say.

I prefer to keep the original speakers for now.

I would be checking the wiring to the speakers from the amp. Does the left rear speaker still work? My radio is kinda funky and the left side wont work unless I play with the volume knob, need to spray some contact cleaner in there one day. Try wiggling the knob and see if it pops back on.
    95 E34 530I V2.37
    ===========
    Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable.

John F. Kennedy

Jeff is right, the volume pot can cause an entire left or right channel to go 'out' but if so it affects the front and rear speakers at the same time.

The amplifier can be accessed behind the panel on the left side of the trunk, a couple of 10mm bolts/screws and disconnecting the two multi-pin plugs will get it out. Check the wiring from the plugs to the speakers (each driver has a separate pair of wires going to it, (the tweeter is the easiest to access).

If driver's door, it may be a wiring failure but I'd be surprised.