GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bought one! need answers on 5-speed

Rina120@yahoo.com Guest

Default Bought one! need answers on 5-speed

I pick it up this week
    It's 93 525i black/tan interior with 130K miles, 5 speed (my first and I am a bit scared of learning how to drive it, but I will).
    Anyhow, it was one owner and all service was done at the dealer. Many new parts except for one - the clutch.

So I am assuming since I am a new driver and this is the original clutch that I will most likely blow it.

My question: when a clutch "goes", what exactly does that mean? I have been dong research and I see master cylinder, slave, flywheel etc.
    I am trying to figure out how much I need to put aside for this bill. Have any of you done it yourselves? I'm pretty mechanical and would love to just take care of it before the winter if it's not too difficult.

TIA and it's good to be back

ed did a powerpoint of when he did his on his 535i. go to the main page, its there. i clikced on the links, though, and they seemed to be dead. i would assume he has them stashed somewhere, hopefully.

Quote Originally Posted by Rina120@yahoo.com
    I pick it up this week
    It's 93 525i black/tan interior with 130K miles, 5 speed (my first and I am a bit scared of learning how to drive it, but I will).
    Anyhow, it was one owner and all service was done at the dealer. Many new parts except for one - the clutch.

So I am assuming since I am a new driver and this is the original clutch that I will most likely blow it.

My question: when a clutch "goes", what exactly does that mean? I have been dong research and I see master cylinder, slave, flywheel etc.
    I am trying to figure out how much I need to put aside for this bill. Have any of you done it yourselves? I'm pretty mechanical and would love to just take care of it before the winter if it's not too difficult.

TIA and it's good to be back