GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New 518 owner

Default New 518 owner

Hey everyone,

I'm new to europe and to BMW. I just bought a 1995 518 and I was wondering if anyone had any advice? Thanks

Jeremy

Shogun,

Thanks for responding and thanks for the links. There are a couple of things going on with it. First the driver side window doesnt rol down because the clips are broken (no automatic windows). I bought a couple of clips that i think are right, but I'm not sure if they are, and I only bought two so I'm not even sure if they are enough. And I'm not even sure how to do the job. Secondly, I'd like to put a new stereo in it but I have no idea where to look or even what to look for. Oh and this is kinda big, at least i think it is. When I'm on the autobahn, in 5th gear cruising between 120-125 kph the car is running about arounf 3-3.5k rpms. That seems very hight to me. I feel like it should be around 2.5. Thanks again for your help and response.

Jeremy

You should be ok, there are only 2 plastic sliders/clips on each door.

The revs seem high- but only if you do lots of highway driving- if not, you have a better ratio. Go under the car and take a look, each diff has an aluminium tag showing the type and ratio on a rear cover housing bolt.

Stereo? I recommend the JVCs as the tuners work with the built in antenna on the e34 better than most (if not all?). Get A 5 CHANNEL amp, small sub/subs and pair of tweeters for the front and rear. That's all you need, and wirign in isn't too hard as you can leave the stock speakers alone.

Sounds like fun there, can u post some pics to show us how it comes along?

Join the Aussie
    540i LE yahoo forum

08/88 535i e34 M30+miller MAF, 'stiens, tints & teeth!

BMW E34
    audio system upgrades, 1989-95 5-series 2.6 MB!!
    includes BMW E34 5-series 1989-1995 factory wiring color code
    http://www.bmwe34.net/E34main/Upgrad...we34_radio.pdf