GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tire rub on front strut - E38 16" rims and Kumho KU27s

Default Tire rub on front strut - E38 16" rims and Kumho KU27s

Good afternoon.

I just replaced my Kumho 712s with their new KU27s (Ecsta LX Platinum) in a 225/55. I'm running these on an E38 16" Style-5 or basketweave or whatever you wanna call em.

The old 712s ran close to the strut and did take some paint off (underinflated or under hard cornering?), but these new KU27s run closer and rub the strut. I am able to turn the wheels by hand and get the expected high pitched rubber squeek.

So, the question is, what's the best remedy? Do any of you run narrow spacers? I have no experience with spacers, but expect a couple of mm is all I need to get clearance.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Dave

10/90 Build 525im, 630,000+km, Eibach/Sachs, Engine Rebuild
    *RIP Oskar the DOG *

Ugh. I was just outside bolting on my new E38 style 5s with brand new 225/55/16s. Came in and saw your post, went back outside and I found that I have the same damn problem. Well, the right front rubbed, the left front didn't....not sure why that would be since they are at the same pressure. I wonder if changing pressure would help keep them away from the struts. Otherwise, I did find this: BMW E34 Website Looks like 3mm spacers will do the trick. I hate the idea of having to track down longer lug bolts though.

I just put on Conti Extreme Contact DWs. Looking forward to initial test drive, but I hope I don't wear them out prematurely becasue of this.

1995 525i 5-Speed 201,000mi

Quote Originally Posted by BennyM View Post