GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can anyone recommend a brake bleeding kit and any tips on the job!

Default Can anyone recommend a brake bleeding kit and any tips on the job!

I've never done this before so I've decided to undertake this job while also replacing the discs and pads. I have an assistant for the job as we will be doing 3 cars but there is a huge array of brake bleeding kits out there and was wondering if anyone had any experience with them and could recommend one?

Also, are there any tips or gotcha's in there that I need to be aware of?

BTW I've not been here for a while because of holidays and work but the new look is great!
    UK 1997 e34 540iA Touring, 1989 535i Sport - now sold, 1998 Mercedes CLK 200 Coupe

I´m guessing that you have the ASC+T like I do, so I´m listening in on this one!

CD43,Style 21s,K&N Insert,White blinkers,LED 3rd brakelight,HIDs,front Monroe sportsshocks/Weitec 35 springs,540 Calipers, Zimmermann Discs and Textar pads.

err....yes I do, I didn't think that made a difference until you posted, now I'm thinking it does!
    UK 1997 e34 540iA Touring, 1989 535i Sport - now sold, 1998 Mercedes CLK 200 Coupe

Pressure bleeding is the way to go, IMO, althought the simplest, most foolproof (but slowest) option is to simply open a bleeder and let gravity do the work. Just keep the reservoir filled with fresh brake fluid and it works fine.

The most basic pressure bleeder is an old reservoir cap with a Schraeder tire valve mounted in it, along with an air compressor or other similar source equipped with a tire chuck. Some people use the air in the spare tire -- that's the approach behind the Eezibleed kit. http://www.autoexpertproducts.com/eezibleed.htm