GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: E34 stock stereo and subs??

Default E34 stock stereo and subs??

I have a 90 525i with a stock head unit and was wondering if i could hook a sub up to it with out changing the head unit bc the stock black goes so well with my interior and i hate the tacky aftermarket ones. I do have upgraded speakers idk if that matters or not. I'm not really experienced in sound systems so any help would be greatly appreciated

Yes, it can be done. What you need on the sub is line input or use an adapter... splice the channel frm the amp using the speaker wire that sends the signal from head unit to amp.

ok what do u mean line input or adapter and would a different amp make this situation better or worse??

Usually an amplifier uses RCA cable for the music signal. Some amplifier has both speaker wire input and RCA... we are looking for the speaker wire input. If you don't have speaker wire input, then you need speaker wire to RCA adapter.

Basically the head unit put out speaker signal to the factory BMW amp... and BMW amp then amplify more and crossover to 10 speakers in the car. That is the wire we want to splice into to feed into the amp... the one from head unit into the bmw amp.

I found this website and was wondering if this is basically what ur saying. plus it has pictures lol. If so do this mean i have to run two amps like this website is showing? sorry for all the questions but I have never done anything like this before. I really appreciate it thanks

URL please?

You should be able to do this with just an amp for the subwoofer.

I don't want to say for sure it will work because the e34 shares grounds and it might mess up the front/back fading, but it should work.

You just need to steal a signal from the wires going to the factory amp, like tiger says. The signal you steal will go to the sub amp.