GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant

Thread: exhaust system sort-of upgrade

Default exhaust system sort-of upgrade

Hey everyone. I got a used exhaust system (everything but the cat) to replace my holy (not in the religious way) mufflers and pipes on the cheap (cheap being a key word here).

I've assembled a list of new bolts, gaskets, and hangers to order, but since I've never done any exhaust work before, I'm unsure about how much of the work I can really do myself and what the proper workflow should be. I know the old exhaust system is going to be a pain to take off, and what's even more complicated is that I want to keep the same catalytic converter and use it with the newer rust-free pieces. It looks like one side of the cat needs to be cut and welded while the other side will just bolt onto the center silencer. So, can I get away with having a shop do the cut and weld while I do the rest of the hanging? i'd really appreciate some advice from those of you who have tackled this before.

As always, thanks in advance.
    BennyM

If the 'new system' came from a 525i then I dont see why you would want to cut anything. Its 'just' a nuts and bolts job - albeit rusty old nuts and bolts. I dont understand why you cant leave the leave the 'old' cat where it is and just bolt the rest onto it. I must be missing something really obvious here.

Default It is from another 525i, but....

You're right. I should have clarified that I also need to replace the pipes that connect the headers to the cat. These are the pipes that meet where the 02 sensor plugs in. From what I can tell, that is not a simple unbolt/rebolt operation.

I was also hoping for some general tips and tricks on how to make the exhaust removal go as smoothly as possible.

BennyM

Quote Originally Posted by whiskychaser View Post