GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Still having high RPM and idle problems...

Default Still having high RPM and idle problems...

I feel like a damn broken record here. Sorry to keep posting about this problem... Car in question is a '91 535i. I'm an engineer by training, have owned a dozen or more Bosch fuel injected cars, and haven't visited a pro mechanic in 10 years....and still this is leaving me completely stumped. I need input from the Gurus.

Symtoms:
    • Idles rough after warm start (car sits for 10 minutes to ~3 hours). Cold start idle is great. Restarting a hot car immediately is great.
    • No power for ~30 seconds after warm start. Throttle input causes engine to bog down. Car will barely move. Revving over 2500-3000 rpm clears it up a little.
    • Won't rev past 5800 rpm or so. Cutoff is immediate and feels exactly like a rev limiter. Holding WOT in 2nd gear the car will sit right on 5800 rpm and not go over. Doesn't feel like wheezing out of breath as with a fuel pump problem.
    • Normal otherwise. Tons of power between 3K-5K, sounds good, idles perfectly, good throttle response and it starts on the first crank every time.
    • Intermittent Error 1222. Lambda rich/lean control stop. CEL flashes on sometimes during bad idle. Seems better after O2 replacement, but persists nonetheless.

Tests:
    • Crankshaft Position Sensor: Replaced with non-OEM, but no difference. Resistance is fine. Air gap on loose side, but within, spec.
    • Coil: Replaced. Did nothing. Returned part.
    • Plug wires: Replaced
    • Distributer+rotor: Look fine
    • Plugs: Haven't checked...seems unlikely culprit. Still, check this weekend
    • Alternator+Battery: 12.3v car off, 13.78v measured between jump start terminal and engine ground. Constant with RPM and only slight dip with larger power draw. Borderline low?
    • Throttle Position Sensor Tested and good. Unplugging at idle causes instant bad idle.