GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant

Thread: I am also a graduate from the University...

Default I am also a graduate from the University...

of Bill R. sprocket installation!

Successfully installed the crankshaft sprocket on my m30. Since this was my first time in doing such a task, I did a dummy run with the old sprocket just to make sure I had a procedure in place. Here's the stuff I used.

(i) Pot
    (ii) Penzoil 80W-90 gear oil
    (iii) Leather cloves from K-Mart and nyopreme cloves
    (iv) K-type thermocouple. Of course you can use any thermometer to read temp
    (v) Temp readout
    (vi) Hot Plate

Here's what was done:
    (1) The dummy run consisted of heating up the gear oil in a pot to about 105 C. The pot with gear in hot oil was next to the car.
    (2) With a clothes hanger, I picked up the gear and grabed it with rubber cloves inside leather cloves to slow down heat transfer to my hands. Not sure if this was necessary but I rather be safe than sorry.
    (3) I immeaditely placed the gear on the crankshaft and stopped sliding it half way down the shaft because the gear had cooled pretty rapidly. I had a feeling this would happen since the gear was not hot enough. I had stopped heating the oil at 105 C because it was giving off quite a bit of bad fumes. I thought I'd give it a shot anyhow.

So I pulled the gear out again with the puller and this time I heated up the oil to about 153 C with the new gear in it, and proceeded to do steps (1) to (3) above. (By now I had a pretty good idea how fast I had to work to get the new one on successfully.) Voila! Had a smoking gun with new gear installed. Below are a couple of pics of the setup and comparisons between new and old timing chains. I had other pictures to show but they didn't turn out good.

http://www.geocities.com/frothlikn/classic_tan4