GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why the E34 *rant

Default Why the E34 *rant

Edit: Blasted clock ! I didn't start this thread !

I get about 8.4L/100kms driving at 105-115 km/h with my 2.5 M50 engine. It's possible your engine needs tuning up, but I wonder if the engine is too small and less efficient compared to the weight of the e34. A big 3.5 or 3.8 engine will work less hard to keep it at high speed and for acceleration because it delivers good torque at low engine revolutions. Lower revs means a bit less fuel per minute, but not always.

Engines are sometimes badly designed and smaller engines have been known in some cases to be less economical than the bigger one offered on the same model. Sometimes it's also just a marketing ploy: quickly make an economical engine, or throw one in there that won't be as great because there is a demand: there's a fuel crisis (ring a bell ?).

I'm no real expert on the matter, but the fact remains that the e34 is a heavy car compared to other similar sedans that would do well with a small engine. It is a luxury car after all.

Why keep it ?

Well, it's solid, very intelligently designed and a pleasure to maintain. This site is a true treasure in helping take care of it. Every little detail has been well looked into. It's sporty if you want it to be, it's elegant and tame if you prefer... And its plain gorgeous. But it sure ain't perfect.

Default Why the E34 *rant

Hi, I'm new here. The E34 is the first car I have ever owned. It has been a month now.
    I love the car. Why this car? Because I believe the E34 is the last true BMW chassis. I like the chromed 4 head lights completely separated and the straight butt. The analog fuel consumption metering gauge kicks ass. It tremendously helps you to learn to get most of your engine. IMO Digital is cheap and is processed slower by the human brain.