GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help tracking down fuel issue

Default Need help tracking down fuel issue

Hey guys - first post and it's a question. Hope that's Kosher here. Been a member on bimmerforums for a bit - but im pretty new to the bmws.

Anyways, I have an 89 535ia.

One day I was driving through the alley and it stalled out. After pushing the car for a bit - I got it started again and drove it into the garage, where it promptly died again and has been sitting since.

-I pulled the fuel line - turned the car over - no pressure, no fuel.
    -I replaced the filter - no go.
    -I pull the fuel pump - tested it by hooking it right up the battery with alligator clips and firing it for 2 seconds dry. Works fine.

So next I hook the fuel pump back up to the wires, and hook up my multi-meter. When I turn the engine over, I see that the pump is only getting between 1.5v to 4 volts peak. Barely enough to run my keyboard.

So what's wrong here? The relay isn't a likely culprit - they either work or they dont....

Quote Originally Posted by Konica
    Hey guys - first post and it's a question. Hope that's Kosher here. Been a member on bimmerforums for a bit - but im pretty new to the bmws.

Anyways, I have an 89 535ia.

One day I was driving through the alley and it stalled out. After pushing the car for a bit - I got it started again and drove it into the garage, where it promptly died again and has been sitting since.

-I pulled the fuel line - turned the car over - no pressure, no fuel.
    -I replaced the filter - no go.
    -I pull the fuel pump - tested it by hooking it right up the battery with alligator clips and firing it for 2 seconds dry. Works fine.

So next I hook the fuel pump back up to the wires, and hook up my multi-meter. When I turn the engine over, I see that the pump is only getting between 1.5v to 4 volts peak. Barely enough to run my keyboard.