GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant

Thread: Changing the Fuel Filter...

Default Changing the Fuel Filter...

Thought i'd give something back to the place i've took so much from... Hope this is some use to someone in the future... I'm only a rookie at the moment but my repetoir of successful car repairs and maintenance jobs is increasing rapidly! I hope some of you other first timers find this helpful...

BENFITS: I found by changing my fuel filter my car idled a little less roughly and the acceleration felt much smoother through the rev range. I'm hoping it will help the fuel economy too... Hoping... (Mine hadn't been changed in a loooonnnnnnngggggggg time!).

MY EXPERIENCE WHEN CHANGING THE FUEL FILTER:

Ok, so i generally buy all my parts from the dealer and try to fit them myself (maybe not the cheapest often but i feel secure with it!), so i have the correct filter for my 535i sport. (I believe the 540i has two!)

The haynes manual recommends depressurising the fuel system before starting and removing the negative battery cable before you get to work on it. I have heard arguments for and against depressurising the system but i decided against it and ran my car low on fuel instead so if there was a leak it wouldn't be much. It worked well. I didn't disconnect the battery either, as i couldn't see a problem arising with any electrical parts (i think it suggests disconnecting the battery because some fuel filters are found in the engine bay - probably a good idea if yours is ).