Thread: Claybar, Claybar, how do I love thee

Default Claybar, Claybar, how do I love thee

Let me count the ways...

Bug guts
    Tar
    Fly Poop
    Sap
    Overspray
    Paint chips... well not quite, but some of the little nits I sure thought were paint chips came off with the clay bar.

For those of you left who have not been turned on to the wonderful fabulousnessitude of a claybar... allow me to recommend you high-tail it to the nearest parts store and get one.

I spent the last four hours washing, clay-bar-ing, washing, waxing, waxing, finishing-spray-ing my wife's Suburban. Man that thing has a lot of surface area. Shoulders and wrists still hurt after 2 beers.

Clay bar works like magic, after you use it the paint is so smooth it feels like it's been waxed already. Wax then goes on easy from the first coat.

I use Zaino products which IMHO are really great... but I'm by no means an expert. Heck, until I got the BMW I thought you were supposed to use dish soap each time you washed the car. Now I'm all fancy with the multiple wash mitts and microfiber drying/detailing rags and the high-falutin' name brand wax...
    Robin

72 Chevy K10
    01 E39 M5

Hey - that was my gigapost... 1064...

Megapost? Kilopost?
    Last edited by Robin-535im; 07-16-2007 at 01:35 AM.
    Robin

72 Chevy K10
    01 E39 M5

kilo,must try a bar myself.....like you until the bimmer i never thought much about polishes etc.....i never knew there was such a choice,i used to wash with a car brush,polish n wax a few years apart.....
    Gone but not forgotten

i think kilopost is 1024, actually.

Quote Originally Posted by repenttokyo
    i think kilopost is 1024, actually.
    Yes - upon reflection I agree... and to think I missed it!
    Robin

72 Chevy K10
    01 E39 M5

Huh uh uh.. You said reflection.. :-D

Mine after claybar and Zaino session:
    1990 535i - 5 spd - Red on black - LSD