GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Spark Plug job on 540

Default Spark Plug job on 540

I bought Bosch coppers and a set a of valve cover gaskets expecting to change my plugs. Do these plugs require setting the gap and should I also buy new valve cover bolt washers or do these rarely show up bad? Also is it a must to use a Torque wrench and apply a certain force when tightening the new plugs or should a half a turn from snug or so be sufficient.
    Last edited by Jehu; 05-23-2007 at 09:59 AM.
    1995 540i Manual build 1/95

Plugs are already gapped... Tightening is usual 1/4 turn from snug or so.

Torque wrench on the valve cover gasket... yes. The small 3/8" torque wrench. Never the 1/2" one.

Yea, the valve cover torques are really touchy. You will want to use a good quality 3/8'' whrench and be careful. A little too tight or loose can easily case a leak. As for the plugs, im not a master mechanic, but i used a torque wrench with a spark plug socket just to be safe.
    Lowered with blue h&r(?) springs, Bilsteins, tint, 19# design 3 injectors, Dual Magnaflow
    southwest WA

Thanks , what about the cover bolt washer/grommets? Smart to buy a set just to be safe I'd imagine weather any are decayed or i lose one. Would it be unwise to do this outdoors? I understand you should only do the plugs on an Aluminum block when its cool so ideally I'd like to do this where its parked but i'm under trees and there's pollen and all kinds of crap floating around I'd be concerned I'd miss something falling in there and end up with a problem.

Cool motor and anti- sieze on the threads.
    "The gas pedal wouldn't go to the floor if it weren't meant to be there"