GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: E12/E28 Clutch/Flywheel upgrade for E34?

Default E12/E28 Clutch/Flywheel upgrade for E34?

Ok, so after searching and searching I hear people talking about doing this, it gets you a single mass flywheel and a heavier duty clutch for dirt cheap... but I cant find any writeups that talk about how to accomplish it. Does anyone either know whats involved or can they point me in the right direction to find out exactly what I need?

I'm by no means an expert at this topic, but I saw it was going unanswered so I'll take a stab at it & perhaps someone will come along and criticize & help steer you to a viable option. With that said, one of our local club members put a non-dual-mass e30 m20 flywheel in his e36 m50 and it really opens it up & lets it rev freely. He was surprised at how much it improved the bottom end. I'm thinking about messing with this on my wife's e36.

He mentioned something about messing with the throw-out fork (different model?) and used a correction: e21 323 throw-out bearing (not e9 320). I would assume he also used the e30 disk & pressure plate. It was all nuts & bolts.

There are also numerous aftermarket light weight flywheels but I'm reluctant to going too light as it can cause driveability issues. It can suffer from annoying oscillations when taking off from a stop & actually lose a little top end.

As for the specifics for doing the job:

1. put all 4 corners up on jackstands
    2. drop the exhaust
    3. unbolt the front of the driveshaft & pivot it to the side & tie it out of the way
    4. get a cheapie scissor transmission jack
    5. support the trans & remove the crossmember
    6. lower the trans slightly (make sure the fan clears the radiator, remove if necessary, make sure there's clearance for the head against the firewall
    7. undo the clips on the shift lever link rod & remove