GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant

Thread: help painting valve covers

Default help painting valve covers

hey guys, i searched but didnt find much. Im takin the valve covers off tomorrow, i want to paint them to match the silver on the v8 cover. what color(code) did you guys use.

also theyre not that bad looking. the oem paint dosent look that bad over most of the cover. what grit sand paper should i use to get that stripped. did you you guys prime and clear coat them?

im new to painting so i hope this isnt a disaster. any pics would be helpful. im taking the covers off to do a gasket replacement by the way. thanks

1995 BMW 530ia/3.15lsd/M Parallels/Eibach/Bilstien/Magnaflow

Default I did this once before...

I had the covers media blasted, milled, and I painted them with high temp silver paint. That was maybe three or four years ago and now paint is flaking off again. My indy said the covers are magnesium and that not much will stick to them. Powder coat should work better than anything and I would do that if I had to do it over again.

FYI, when you put it all together afterwards, use some Permatex anaerobic gasket sealer on the new gaskets. That will keep you from having leaking valver covers again within a couple of years.

Best of luck,

Robert
    Robert Callaway
    Dallas, TX
    '94 530im 143k mi
    '94 Land Cruiser FZJ-80 202k mi.

"If I could have back all the time and money I ever spent on cars.......I'd spend it all on cars."

i took off my VC's and sanded them for a long time. i applied about a dozen coats of high-temp spray paint.

i'd say it lasted 6-months or so before it started to bubble up and peel off.

You should powder coat them. Or else use primers and all that fancy stuff

+1 for powder coating them.

Default thanks for the info

guess it wont be as easy as i thought, any guess at what it will cost to powdercoat? im about to lock it up in the garage for a week.