Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: e30 instrument cluster

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    290

    Default e30 instrument cluster

    Does anybody have a write-up on the e30 instrument cluster? I've found about 4 good ones for the e34, but I was working on my uncle's 87'325ic and it's a little different. Is there a good e30 forum out there? I'm definately spoiled by this forum.

    Greg Mendoza

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    4,148

    Default Here's one i did a long time ago on the battery

    replacement for the e30 cluster Here...




    Quote Originally Posted by Mendozart
    Does anybody have a write-up on the e30 instrument cluster? I've found about 4 good ones for the e34, but I was working on my uncle's 87'325ic and it's a little different. Is there a good e30 forum out there? I'm definately spoiled by this forum.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    9,120

    Default

    While you are talking about the E30, I got one question from someone:

    88 325iC and the OBC barely lights and I can't seem to get it to reset to US Miles, temp. Stays in km and celsius.
    Are there bulbs inside which can be replaced similar to the BC II and IV or are they soldered?
    And resetting to US miles and temp.?
    Is there any instruction on the net or someone can let me know?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Perth Western Australia
    Posts
    438

    Default

    Not sure Shogun, I'll try to suss it out at work tomorrow for you.
    BMW parts professional

    Previous rides:
    BMW
    E12 M535i (go the dogleg!)
    E28 M535i (MMM M88!)
    E34 535i M

    MAZDA:
    RX7 S-IV T04 (440 hp ATW)
    RX7 S-I 13b bridge port
    RX4 13b peripheral port

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    baton rouge, loserana
    Posts
    6,923

    Default

    replace the bulb pack it's about $25, it slides in from the right side so you gotta pull the obc out to do it, to change it to us you set it to mpg then push the little recessed button and that switches it over, needs to be done whenever power is lost

    Quote Originally Posted by shogun
    While you are talking about the E30, I got one question from someone:



    Are there bulbs inside which can be replaced similar to the BC II and IV or are they soldered?
    And resetting to US miles and temp.?
    Is there any instruction on the net or someone can let me know?
    all america wants is cold beer warm cat and a place to take a poop with a door on it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    290

    Default

    Thanks Bill R, that is exactly what I was looking for. You the man!

    Greg Mendoza

Similar Threads

  1. Would these fit in the Instrument cluster?
    By Calico_NC in forum 5 Series BMW
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2007, 03:22 PM
  2. instrument cluster is always on
    By vader1 in forum 5 Series BMW
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-21-2005, 02:17 AM
  3. Help - Have the instrument cluster out.....
    By western99 in forum 5 Series BMW
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-22-2004, 10:32 PM
  4. Instrument cluster
    By baileydog in forum 5 Series BMW
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2004, 05:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •