GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A couple of questions for M60 530i owners

Default A couple of questions for M60 530i owners

Hi,

I'm a newbie on this site but no newbie to BMWs. I bought a 1986 325es as my first car for $2500 when I was a junior in high school. Now I am a junior in college home in beautiful Boston for the summer and I got my hands on a mint 1995 530i 5spd from a private seller nearby. The car has 153,000k miles on it, but the guy I bought it from bought it new in 1995 from a dealer in Connecticut. He was a BMW guy like all of us and so I knew he took good care of it, and he did.
    Only problem I've had so far was a dead battery that I replaced for 75$. He sold it to me telling me the AC didn't work (but i talked him down $500). I've got the dye test and it turns out the condenser has a big leak and the compressor has a very small one. I got a new condenser for $150 off ebay and I bought a new dryer from bavauto. I'm gettin the mechanic to put that in this week. They say the compressor leak is very small and may be so small that it will hold pressure all summer. We'll see...
    I never asked him what the mileage on the oil in it was, and the gear oil for that matter. I finally have a day off this weekend, after working 70 hour weeks since I got home, and I wanna get some fluids done. I was wondering what oil everybody uses. It's never had synthetic in it, so I think I'm gonna steer clear of M1 (although i did put it in my e30). Also, I still have to check the bell housing, but what kind of tranny fluid does everybody use too?
    Any other info 530i owners? I've only had the car for about a month now and am getting pretty familiar with it, but I guess I should see what everyone else thinks before I go do something stupid. I wanna get A LOT of miles out of this car seeing as thought I will be driving it on the NY state thruway 400 miles to school and back. Any suggestions are great. Thanks

-Rory