GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant

Thread: Knocking when engine turned off...

Default Knocking when engine turned off...

I've done quite a bit of work on the car over the winter and finally pulled it out of its den for a peek at the sun. After running it to bleed the cooling system, I shut it off and heard a rather loud (louder than ticking valves)knocking from the back end of the M50 as it wound down and came to a stop. I repeated this a few times to determine the origin, but couldn't pin it down. My fear stems from a botched head cover gasket job performed by an indy. As the photo below shows, they failed to seat the gasket properly.
    I'm no engine expert, so I have to ask,..... could the noise possibly be from a cam bearing not getting oil due to gaping hole where the seal is poking out? I know this may be a stretch and the noise is likely something else, but it would be peace of mind and/or an argument to the indy that their botch has damaged something else. Also, could it be the throw out bearing? I've heard it on occasion, but it was much quieter than this and while the car was idling with the clutch engaged.

The main things completed on the car this winter were;

re-built the shift linkage, guibo
    replaced the exhaust (cat-back)
    shocks/struts/springs all around

I know I'm asking a lot, but any input would be much appreciated.

Dave M

Default i thought that....

all of the manual cars were supposed to make noises as the dual mass flywheels came to a stop..i don't know if that applies to the less torque-y m50 or not.
    "..Torchinski v. Peterson that it is legal to carry a concealed weapon, so long the weapon is totally slick like a huge ass machine gun that you carry under a trench coat, like in the Matrix."

Haven't heard this particular noise before, I'm dreading a crankshaft bearing, but strange that I hear it only after 3 months of sitting and fresh fluids all around.
    BTW, I got the second package, thanks again.

Dave M