GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant

Thread: whats wrong with my e30?

Default whats wrong with my e30?

still trying to get the new car running better so i can start using it as a dialy driver. the car is a 1989 e325im about 160K. heres the new problem. i'll describe it the best i can but i just changed my own oil for the first time about a week ago so im pretty new to working on cars.

it has a bad idle. well it does it the whole even when running but it's slightly better when warm. the symptoms are minor engine surging while it idles. it probably goes up about 3-500 rpms and everytime it does the red engine light would flash. and it goes away right when the the engine slows back down.

ive changed all the oil and looked at the o2 sensor checked the plugs, wires and distributor cap. made sure the oil cap and dipstick was tight. mass airflow sensor is new but its aftermarket so i dont know anything about it. hoses look good so i dont think theres a leak in the intake or anything.

im not sure what is wrong. i tried searching for stomp test but couldnt get any info is it the same as doing it on later cars? whats a good site to get the codes decifered?
    Last edited by JohnC; 05-18-2006 at 10:13 PM.

Stomp test procedure and the codes and info is on my website.

I'd check the codes but if I were forced to guess it would be something like cam/speed position sensor, or something to do with fuel pressure like a regulator or filter..... if it's a fuel pressure or injection problem, odds are a code reader won't tell you. Cam sensors the code reader will pick up.

My e30 had to have the o-rings on the injectors replaced. A couple of them were sucking air (which you could easily hear) and was causing uneven idle. I could put my finger over the area where the ring was bad to plug the leak and the idle would smooth out.
    1990 535i 5-sp., except for 16" M-Contours, cd deck, and clear corners, completely stock. 226k and running strong