GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Valve check

Default Valve check

I'm thinking of checking my valves,have had the car a year now and have not checked them,I've only changed fluids and filters.

I've never "opened" her up before,have read the Haynes,E34 site,searched and the bible (Bentley)

Few things to buy:

Torque wrench
    Lock tight glue
    Feeler gauge
    Gasket
    6 pack

Can I use a 32mm wrench on the fan to move the crankshaft,Is this ok?

When I get the first cylinder at TDC do I adjust both sides at the same time?
    Is it easy to tell when its at TDC?

Sorry for the lame question's, I have never done this before trying to get as much info as I can so I don't mess things up.

I want to make her purr
    89 535 272,000km auto Euro

Use the 32mm wrench to remove the fan and turn the engine with a wrench on the crank bolt, this takes what? 3 minutes? Turning the engine with the fan nut is just asking for trouble.

There is a pointer on the front of the engine and a notch on the crank, it will be clearly visable with the fan removed. Yours may even have degrees marked on the crank, either way just like up the 0 on the crank with the line on the front of the engine.

Use whatever method of adjusting the valves that makes the most sense to you, every ones system works. just make sure they are consistent.

So I remove the fan and there should be a crank bolt thats 36mm is that right?

So will need to add a 36mm socket to my list?

Default Check this out

Vee ave vays of dealing vid your kind...........

Already have that's why I asked about using the fan bolt,was checking if that's the way most people do it.

A trick from Brent Berger: