GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nitrous oxide and the M30: deadly or doable?

Default Nitrous oxide and the M30: deadly or doable?

Okay, so I've seen those clips on Top Gear. You know the ones. They put nitrous in a 20-year-old Jaguar or a diesel Golf and it slays supercars. (Really, if you haven't seen it, they've got a clapped-out XJ-S and a diesel Mk2 Golf into the low 13s with no other mods except for binning the interior. The two cars outdragged a 996 911 Turbo and an NSX, respectively.)

I want my engine to last a long time, and I know those guys on Top Gear don't care if it lasts five minutes, but is any amount of nitrous safe for an unmodified M30?

I'm not an expert, but I figure that nitrous generates more power by adding more oxygen into the combustion chamber. Same, really, as a turbocharger. So of the M30 can handle small amounts of boost without modification (which it can), then can't it also handle some nitrous?

I don't want to go or kill my car, but even a 50-hp squirt would be a nice thing to have.

Or are there other downsides to using nitrous with the M30? Is installation/setup a major pain?

I want to know the pros and cons. It seems to me that a small shot of nitrous ought to be harmless, but I don't want to bet my engine on it.
    Last edited by Jay 535i; 03-31-2006 at 09:36 PM.

Jay Lebo - Toronto, Canada
    1990 BMW 535i
    5-speed conversion
    Lightened flywheel
    Sachs Suspension Kit
    E.A.T. Chip